Plenary Speakers

The Plenary Speakers below will share their innovative technical contributions and applications throughout the conference, addressing some of the most complex technologies in the photonics field.

Prof. Roel Baets
Ghent University, Belgium

Prof. Roel Baets Bio:

Roel Baets is full professor at Ghent University where he leads a mixed UGent – imec team. For about 40 years he has worked in the field of integrated photonics, in multiple material platforms (silicon, silicon nitride, III-V). He has made diverse scientific contributions to this field, as well as to its applications and spin-off creation in telecom, datacom and sensing. He has led major research projects in silicon photonics in Europe and founded ePIXfab, the globally first Multi-Project-Wafer service for silicon photonics and now the European Silicon Photonics Alliance. In recent years his research has focused on medical and environmental sensing applications of silicon photonics. He is a Fellow of the IEEE, of the European Optical Society (EOS) and of the Optical Society (OSA). He has been a recipient of the 2018 PIC-International Lifetime Achievement Award and of the 2020 John Tyndall award.

Dr. Ray Beausoleil
Senior Fellow & Senior Vice President, Director, Large-Scale Integrated Photonics Lab,
Hewlett Packard Enterprise (HPE)

Dr. Ray Beausoleil Bio:

Ray Beausoleil received the Ph.D. degree in physics from Stanford University, Stanford, CA, in 1986. He is currently a Senior Fellow and Senior Vice President at Hewlett Packard Enterprise (HPE), San Jose, CA. He is a Fellow of the American Physical Society and the Optical Society of America.

Prof. Joyce Poon
Max Planck Institute of Microstructure Physics, Germany & The University of Toronto, Canada

Prof. Joyce Poon

Joyce Poon is the Managing Director at the Max Planck Institute of Microstructure Physics, Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of Toronto, and an Honorary Professor in the Faculty of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at the Technical University of Berlin. She currently serves as a Director-at-Large for Optica (formerly the Optical Society, OSA). She and her team specialize in integrated photonics on silicon.

Prof. Poon obtained the Ph.D. and M.S. in Electrical Engineering from Caltech in 2007 and 2003 respectively, and the B.A.Sc. in Engineering Science (physics option) from the University of Toronto in 2002. Recognitions she has received include a Canada Research Chair (2012-2019), ECE Department Teaching Award (2017), OFC Top-Scored Paper (2017), the McCharles Prize for Early Research Career Distinction (2013), MIT TR35 (2012), and the IBM Faculty Award (2010, 2011). She is an Optica Fellow (formerly OSA) and a Fellow of the IEEE.

Prof. Shanhui Fan
Stanford University, USA

Prof. Shanhui Fan Bio:

Shanhui Fan is the Joseph and Hon Mai Goodman Professor in the School of Engineering, a Professor of Electrical Engineering, a Professor of Applied Physics (by courtesy), and a Senior Fellow of the Precourt Institute for Energy, at the Stanford University. He received his Ph. D in 1997 in theoretical condensed matter physics from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT). His research interests are in fundamental studies of solid state and photonic structures and devices, especially photonic crystals, plasmonics, and meta-materials, and applications of these structures in energy and information technology applications. He has published over 600 refereed journal articles, has given over 380 plenary/keynote/invited talks, and holds over 70 US patents. He has cofounded two companies aiming to commercialize high-speed engineering computations and radiative cooling technology respectively. Prof. Fan received a National Science Foundation Career Award (2002), a David and Lucile Packard Fellowship in Science and Engineering (2003), the U. S. National Academy of Sciences W. O. Baker Award for Initiatives in Research (2007), the Adolph Lomb Medal from the Optical Society of America (2007), a Vannevar Bush Faculty Fellowship from the U. S. Department of Defense (2017), a Simons Investigator in Physics (2021), and the R. W. Wood Prize from Optica (2022). He is a Web of Science Highly Cited Researcher since 2015, and a Fellow of the IEEE, the American Physical Society, the Optical Society of America, and the SPIE.